Skip to content
July 10, 2013 / silvernswan

Yet another curtain (keeping out the winter cold)

As I mentioned in my previous post about curtains, I am a big fan of them for their insulating properties. Both our front and back doors are mostly glass and a bit drafty, so I want to put curtains over them in winter. After purchasing the last of the roll to make my dining room curtains and kitchen blind, I was pleasantly surprised to find more of it recently, and bought enough for one full length drop to go over our back door (which is at the end of the kitchen along with a laundry alcove, hence the laundry bucket in the picture).

DSC02930

The curtain rail is small and attached just below the ceiling moulding so it won’t be very noticeable in summer if we choose not have a curtain up then.

DSC02931

I was really glad we had this up during the severely stormy weather a couple of weeks ago. There was a strong draft coming through the door (and water blowing in under it) but the curtain stopped it completely.

Opps, you can see the lining is longer than the curtain here; I was waiting to see whether the fabric would drop at all before trimming the lining. The lining doesn’t need hemming, so I will just cut it in situ when I get around to it. . .

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Jo / Jul 10 2013 8:07 pm

    Ooh yummy, practical! Lol! I need to do some curtain stuff but I’m too obsessed with garments right now. I wish I had someone to teach me the joys of curtains. Hint hint lol! 🙂
    They look like a great match for your house by the way 🙂

    • silvernswan / Jul 10 2013 8:58 pm

      Oh, thank you. Curtains are relatively easy and very satisfying. You could have a nosy at all the curtains in our house when you come to visit, and I would love to help you if you want to make some.

  2. Sandra / Jul 11 2013 9:09 am

    I’ve just had a read of both your posts. I really like the fabric you chose. I also really like how you’ve put the top of the curtain right at the top of the wall not just above the door – great idea! When my kids were smaller curtains were easy to whip up and a give a bit of a change to their room.

  3. missjoiedevivre / Aug 7 2013 12:57 am

    What a clever and practical and pretty idea! Warm is good…

  4. Calico Stretch / Aug 12 2013 9:11 am

    Ya know I was thinking we probably need a curtain on our garage door as the wind whistles under and around it. You’ve reminded me of this …. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

