Skip to content
May 24, 2013 / silvernswan

Cherry shirt

This is my third incarnation of Simplicity 1941, the first was my 70′s shirt and the second my polka dot shirt.

DetailsIMG_3405IMG_3412IMG_3409

Pattern: Simplicity 1941, view B

Fabric: Cotton 2m @ $8/m

Cut: 1st April

Sewn: 23rd – 26th April

Alterations made:

  • Wide shoulder adjustment 15-20mm
  • Folded pleats out of sleeve when cutting out
  • Added 3-4cm length in waist
  • Added interfacing in placket
  • Used snaps instead of buttons

Successful: Yes.

I cut this shirt out at the same time as the red polka dot one, which at the time was efficient, but turned out to be unfortunate as there were some more alterations I would have liked to have done around the shoulder, bust and arm scythe.

I sewed the shoulder seam with a narrow allowance which gave me an extra 15mm and lowered the bust point sufficiently (I had only realised it was too high after I finished my last version of this shirt). I then had to sew narrow seams for the ends of the collar giving me an extra 15mm and luckily the collar eased on OK (as I had added 30mm in total to the neckline). There was already a bit of ease in the sleeve cap, so adding length to the arm scythe didn’t matter.

To get the sleeves sitting better as I knew I had cut them a slightly odd shape, I pin basted and tried on, then hand basted and tried on, and then finally sewed.

DSC02796

Here you can see the clear snaps I used on the front. I had to use white snaps on the underside as clear snaps all the way through create a small clear peep hole where the studs go through the fabric.

IMG_3414

And I used self covered fabric buttons for the sleeve detail. And, yes, I did carefully consider the colour combination when covering them 🙂  IMG_3411Thanks to Kat for the lovely photo shoot! (Taken up at Massey Memorial Hall)

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. missjoiedevivre / Jun 4 2013 11:04 am

    This is such a cute shirt, and I love the fabric covered button trim! It looks great on you too.

Leave a Reply

