Skip to content
May 9, 2013 / silvernswan

One hour kids pants

As the weather is turning colder, I wrangled little Master F (2 1/2) into some long pants the other day. Only they turned out to be about capri length or less on him. We have been the very lucky recipients of a generous amount of hand-me-downs from my extended family and I went through our stash and discovered that we do have enough pants for him in size 3, so I don’t really need to make any. However I had already found and downloaded this lovely kids pants pattern from Dana made it which I wanted to try out. I was also hoping that if I made some pants in fabric he picked he would be more likely to wear them. This is the boy would says he would rather be cold than wear clothes. . . and he can take them off by himself.

The first & test pair and was made from some soft stretch cord in tan/brown (stash busting). I timed myself when I made the second pair and from cutting out to completely finished took under an hour. I have the feeling I’m a bit of a slow sewer, so they could be quicker.

DSC02763

It was quite hard to get a decent photo of him wearing them as they are all action shots!

DSC02765

Oh, how I wish I could squat like that!

DSC02768

You may be able to make out the hems is this shot, they are a good 6 or 7 cm long which is great! I haven’t managed to get any shots of him wearing the second pair, here is a picture of the fabric which we picked together. Another light corduroy with monkeys on it (monkeys!).

DSC02775

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Holly / May 9 2013 6:29 am

    They look really good. I need to make some for Guinevere.

  2. Sandra / May 9 2013 8:29 am

    I love the action shots. I have some wide wale cord that I plan to make into pants for my 2.5 yr boy.

Leave a Reply

