Skip to content
May 7, 2013 / silvernswan

WSBN Burda Sew Along – here’s what I have planned

I’ve signed up to do the Burda Sew Along with WSBN (Wellington Sewing Bloggers Network). Yay, my very first sew-along! I don’t actually own any Burda style magazines, so why am I doing this? Well, I am part of the WSBN, and it has been awesome to meet and hang out with other local sewers. Also the scope is wide so I can make whatever garment I want/need.

I fall into Burdas plus sizing and a lot of their plus size range is – hmmm – sack like. Not to my taste at all. I was also quite disappointed that there is only one tall pattern (or less) in each issue and I have yet to find a tall pattern that appeals. I did find a couple of dress patterns I liked the look of, but they weren’t suitable for breastfeeding. Luckily my friend Kat had a couple of suitable patterns in her Burda mags that I borrowed to draft off. (Thanks Kat!)

Here is the craziness that is trying to trace a pattern from the Burda pattern sheet. Mad skillz are required. (Yes, “skillz” with a “Z”. That crazy.) I traced onto mid-weight interfacing at Kat’s recommendation, and I think it is really good to work with.

DSC02800

Mr R scanned the instructions for me after I traced the patterns, but something went awry with the scanning. Luckily we found the instructions on the Burda website, along with pictures so I can link to them for you.

First up, pants in red/maroon corduroy from my stash (originally earmarked to make a maternity dress). I wear pants almost everyday and the ones in my wardrobe are currently all self-made. Sadly they are all very simple stretch pants with no pockets, and I need pockets! I haven’t made non-stretch pants in a while, and I have my fingers crossed they will fit OK. Here they are on the Burda website.

DSC02803

And secondly, a simple wrap top in plain grey knit also from my stash. It is quite a heavy knit, so may work as a cardi. I do find it quite odd that the top clearly doesn’t fit the model in the picture and is hidden under a giant fluffy vest. I’m planning on doing some adjustments to the pattern (FBA & maybe length) before cutting it out.

DSC02802

I’m not committing to finishing both these garments for the sew along, one would be fine.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. kaitui_kiwi / May 8 2013 12:56 am

    Go the cord! Those are going to look great and look fab with the wrap top, (a neutral wrap top goes with everything I suppose) you’ll end up with a whole outfit from this 🙂

  2. Sandra / May 8 2013 4:09 am

    I love the red cord. and also the wrap top – and… when i looked at the picture… i have that mag… so might add it to my list of to dos

  3. Kat H / May 9 2013 8:45 am

    I am seriously considering making that top myself…. So I need you to make it first so I can see what it looks like when not hidden under a shapeless fur vest, to help my decision making process. 😉

Leave a Reply

