Skip to content
May 1, 2013 / silvernswan

Midnight Skies Cake

I had so much fun making the sunflower cake for my mother in law that when the next family birthday rolled around I wanted to make another decorated cake. This one was for my mum.

The cake was a double layer of gluten-free carrot cake which turned out moist, delicious and a little to delicate in texture for the heaviness of fondant. I ‘dirty iced’ the cake with buttercream first and let it set. (There is a photo of me doing this in the last post)

Moore Wilsons stock pre-coloured fondant in a comprehensive range of colours. I didn’t have a plan in mind when I bought the coloured fondant, so let my older son pick the colours. The packets just said “blue” and “yellow” with no colour representation on the packet, so I got a surprise when I opened the packet and found this intense, vivid smurf blue. This blue was also showed up intensely on the lips and tongue.

My favourite new tip I found when looking at clips on youtube was to decorate the cake while it is on a lazy Susan. It makes it so easy to turn the cake and decorate from any angle.

DSC02738

The strange things inside the bow are there to help support it. I just used some corrugated cardboard wrapped in sellotape.

DSC02739

And the finished cake:

DSC02740

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. missjoiedevivre / May 7 2013 8:51 pm

    Holy moly this is incredible! I hope you got lots of kudos and appreciation, because you deserve it!

Leave a Reply

