Skip to content
April 15, 2013 / silvernswan

Strawberry shortcake apron

V8643Details

Pattern: Vogue 8643 (Vintage aprons – this pattern is an original design from 1952.) Option E, in size L

Fabric: 3.2m of cotton, blue and orange & white striped strawberries on a light lime green background.

Cut: 7th April

Sewn: 8th – 11th April

Alterations made:

  • 4cm width added to the Centre Front of the bib, yoke and waist band pieces
  • 3cm length evenly added to bib and 1 extra cm by sewing the seam between bib and yoke narrower.
  • Added a pocket on the other side.

Successful: Yes!

DSC02746I’ve been wanting, no needing an apron for a while now. When the pattern sale come up I couldn’t resist these vintage aprons. This project jumped the queue to get made as it will be something I will use everyday (or every second day). And when I do sew a vintage dress, I’ll be able to protect it.

A wee note about the fabric – when I saw it in the store all I really noticed was the cute strawberries, not the colour of the background. I only realised how lime green it is when I held up the partially finished product in the mirror, opps, an inadvertent adventure out of my comfort zone

I really enjoyed putting this pattern together and I am also really pleased with the alterations. I am probably an XXL in Vogue sizing, and even though it is only an apron, I needed those alterations for it to fit as designed with the bib sitting wide on the shoulders.

May I bring your attention to the fact that this pattern uses 3.2m of fabric. It uses all of it! I didn’t notice that I needed to cut 4 tie ends, and only just managed to eke the missing two out of the scraps.

DSC02716

And here it is in action:

DSC02718

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. kaitui_kiwi / Apr 15 2013 7:49 pm

    You win! 🙂

    An apron is totally the right time to try crazy colours, I think it looks wicked and I am officially an Apron Queen so my opinion is very important, haha 😉

  2. Holly / Apr 16 2013 7:00 am

    I love the apron! There’s something satisfying about having a pretty apron to wear.

  3. missjoiedevivre / Apr 17 2013 12:28 am

    Adorable! Love this so much and I do really want an apron now! The bright colour makes it so happy.

    And you win:)

  4. Calico Stretch / Apr 26 2013 7:11 pm

    Strawberry shortcake – gosh I’ve watched enough Strawberry Shortcake too. LOL the things we do right? Anyway, the apron is very cute and not too lime green either actualluy. And pockets. My favourite apron doesn’t have pockets and its damned annoying.

    PS is that a sponge? I’ve never made a sponge! Kinda scared of them. How silly is that.

  5. silvernswan / Apr 26 2013 8:02 pm

    Thanks for your kind comments everyone :-).

    No, it is not a sponge – I’ve never even tried to make a sponge. It was a gluten free carrot cake for my mums birthday.

Leave a Reply

