Skip to content
April 12, 2013 / silvernswan

New patterns and upcoming projects

Over Easter, as well as finishing off the dining room curtains I got to cut out several more projects; two shirts for me, two shirts for him and some more undies. I’m really enjoying having a selection of projects cut out ready to sew when I have time. Cutting out is not very child friendly for me as I need the lounge floor or the kitchen table and it needs a block of time to complete.

The following weekend I got my hands on a swag of new patterns. They were ordered on my behalf as there was a BMV sale on (you have to be a member). Discounting the hoodie pattern which is for Mr R, you can see quite a theme coming through there, can’t you?

DSC02711

And, here are some of the patterns and fabric I have lined up:

DSC02713

The only one not cut out is the Butterick “walkaway dress” (B4790). I plan to actually make a muslin for this – the first one ever in my sewing history. The darker colours don’t show up so well, the hoodie is in navy and the shirt is a dark green. I had already started sewing the other shirt for Mr R so it is not pictured here.

I’m not sure how much time it will take me to get through this pile it could be a month, it could be six! I’ve been quite focused on sewing since starting blogging, but I usually only get to sew in that precious time when both little ones are asleep.

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. missjoiedevivre / Apr 12 2013 6:13 am

    Ooh! You might win the prize for being the first one of us to make something from that pattern haul! I suspect your certainly the first person to cut. Can’t wait to see it all and the walkaway fabric looks stunning!

    • silvernswan / Apr 12 2013 7:20 pm

      Actually my apron is finished now, I’m still writing up the post though. And yes, did you notice I have two colour ways of the same fabric? I’ve wanted something with cherries for ages.

  2. Sandra / Apr 12 2013 9:36 am

    Love the bulk cutting out and love some of your fabric choices. I was contemplating the walk away dress but think I want to see one made up, cant wait to see yours.

    • silvernswan / Apr 12 2013 7:24 pm

      Thank you. Did you see Mel’s post on her walk away dress? And you would be most welcome to borrow my pattern if you want.

  3. Emily / Apr 12 2013 8:16 pm

    I do indeed see a theme! Which are you going to tackle first I wonder?

Leave a Reply

