Skip to content
April 9, 2013 / silvernswan

Very boring sewing – nappy liners

The other night I overlocked 15 squares of microfibre for some new nappy inserts. Incidentally this involved dislodging the cat off the pile of unsewn ones – every – single – time.

The ones we have already have been in constant use for over two years and have not been working well recently. In fact they have been downright appalling and have caused me to use disposables much more than I had intended. I’ve tried strip washing them without much improvement, wondering whether my home made laundry liquid was causing buildup. But I’ve come to the conclusion that the old ones must have reached the end of their usable life.  Just in case my laundry liquid was causing buildup I’ve decided to use Ecostore laundry powder on the new ones going forward.

Here is my pile of completed overlocking carelessly thrown on the floor:

DSC02709

They are actually a pristine white, but I took a night photo without a flash. Opps.

When I first made liners I tried overlocking three layers together, but my machine was really struggling. Actually this prompted me to buy a new overlocker which is a huge improvement on my old one. But I learnt when shopping for the new overlocker that the weave of the microfibre is really hard on domestic overlockers and I shouldn’t really expect it to be able to do three layers at once. So I overlocked the edges and then folded them into thirds and straight stitched them together. This time round I’m leaving them as squares because they will dry much quicker this way, and it isn’t much bother to fold them into the pocket nappies.

And here is a very simple trick to do a continuous line of sewing around a square item like this:

Sew just to or off the end and stop with the needles up

DSC02705

Lift the foot and pull the threads out a little

DSC02706

Turn and reposition your item just in front of the needles

DSC02707

Lower foot and start sewing again

DSC02708

Simple 🙂

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. missjoiedevivre / Apr 12 2013 6:10 am

    Boring but necessary, and thankfully not for ever!

Leave a Reply

