Skip to content
April 1, 2013 / silvernswan

The 1973 Ensemble

My dear friend Katrina recently had a surprise birthday party organised for her by her lovely husband. He asked us to come dressed in the fashion of 1973.

I found the inspiration for my outfit in this 1973 pattern pictured over at Patternaholic

Simplicity 5575 (1973)

I have already blogged about the shirt (Simplicity 1941) and the pants (Burda 8798). DSC02656

The little vest was a top I made for nursing which was a failure. The bust adjustment went wrong and I didn’t like the style that had gathers and hung loosely from below the bust. I had just taken it out of my wardrobe and thrown it in my sewing room to cut up for undies, when I thought to use it for this outfit. I cut off the sleeves, and cut off and re-attached the body much smaller and shorter. I love the way the vest makes the collar pop.

After I bought the fabric for the shirt I really, really wanted to go and get bright lime green fabric for the pants (but resisted and used fabric from my stash instead). I also would have loved to have my pants and vest matching, as appears to be the fashion of the day.

There is something about this delightfully silly picture that makes me think of Demi Moore. The hair perhaps?

DSC02660

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Teresa Buckthought / Apr 1 2013 5:12 am

    Great work! This is the second blog post I’ve seen today about someone going to a 1970’s party – must be the season for it 🙂

  2. Calico Stretch / Apr 2 2013 7:16 am

    Hah you do have Demi hair! And the pout too perhaps lol 🙂

    And the pants still look cool. Wide wide wide but cool. Oh and the wide collar – I saw a student wearing a collar like that the other day. Paired with skinny jeans and an 80s do. Very strange 🙂

  3. missjoiedevivre / Apr 12 2013 6:07 am

    Very Demi! And actually, I think that vest is pretty cool, especially for a rescued fail!

Leave a Reply

