Skip to content
March 30, 2013 / silvernswan

70’s W-i-d-e leg pants

I’ve been using Burda pattern 8798 as the basis for most of my pants recently. I’m not sure if it is still available, I would have purchased it over 10 years ago.

What is really good about this pattern? It is designed for a height of 5’9″ / 176cm, which is exactly my height, so I don’t have to worry about lengthening it anywhere and the curves fall in the right places.DSC02683

I made these pants for a ’70s party, so found some suitable pants fabric from my stash. Most people I’ve talked to recently have amazing stashes full of things they love. I don’t seem to – mostly mine is stuff I don’t like that much. Basically I chose to use this fabric as I couldn’t see myself ever actually wanting to make pants this colour to wear on a regular basis.

I cut the flares by adding about 10 cm to each side of each leg when cutting out. To do this I had to cut the pants slightly off-grain (at an angle) as I did not have quite enough fabric. The fabric is a one way stretch and I didn’t prewash it, so I’ll have to wait and see if they can be re-purposed after the party or not.

I put an invisible zip in the back, a black one as it was all I had to hand. The waist band has no interfacing, it is cut along the non-stretch direction of the fabric.

And a whimsy detail: my son was getting a bit antsy while I was trying to finish these off, so I got him to choose the colour and help me put the snaps on the waistband. He chose turquoise!

DSC02664

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Calico Stretch / Mar 30 2013 7:28 am

    Brilliant trou and 10cm wider per side per leg! Wow that’s a lot of fabric … just as well we’re not knee deep (snort) in full on 70s style again ….just a hint here and there.

    I hope the party was a blast.

  2. Sandra / Mar 30 2013 9:45 pm

    That is some serious flare going in there. You will great at the 70s party.

  3. missjoiedevivre / Mar 31 2013 7:35 am

    Those are hilarious and fantastic and awesome all at once. Hope the party goes great and you’ll definitely look the part!

  4. silvernswan / Mar 31 2013 9:54 am

    Thanks for your lovely comments. I’ve just got the pants out of the wash and they have shrunk so I’m not sure what I will do with them now. The party went well though.

Trackbacks

  1. The 1973 Ensemble | Piccolo presents

Leave a Reply

