Skip to content
February 22, 2013 / silvernswan

Sunflower Cake

DSC02568It was my mother-in-law’s birthday this week and we are having a party for her at our house on Saturday. I felt like being adventurous and making a decorated cake. A sunflower came to mind (it is the time of year for them), I found this cake for inspiration and it even had instructions!

DSC02570    I started with a carrot cake, and so the icing *had* to be cream cheese. And then I discovered there is such a thing as cream cheese buttercream icing. Mmmmmm. There was some left over after icing the cake, but I assure you it won’t last long.

After spending 10 minutes at the supermarket trying to decide which decorator icing to purchase, which is quite a feat with a rambunctious toddler and a grizzly baby in tow, it turns out I got the wrong one. Just in case you didn’t know, “Royal Icing” is a kind of icing that is absolutely not the same as fondant!

DSC02572After a quick trip to the supermarket I finally had the right stuff (Bakels “Petticine” in the blue and silver packet). It was really fun to work with; easy to knead the colour in, and easy to roll out and shape.You really don’t need much; the only size packet was 750g and I really only needed 1/4 of that. I coloured 1/3 of the packet, any ideas on what to do with the left over coloured stuff?

DSC02573I was going for a green colour that said “plant”, but short of emptying the whole bottle of green food colouring in, all I got was “your faded neon t-shirt that you’ve worn to the gym for the last five years”. Oh well, as I said, it tastes good.

I was too lazy to try mixing brown and piping it into the top, so I just covered with walnuts and some chocolate sprinkles. Anyway I’m pretty happy with how this turned out, especially as I decided to do it on a whim.

DSC02575

Leave a Reply

